← Back


Friday, 07 June 2019

JPhD2019: a congress by students and for students

This meeting is organized by Barcelona Nanotechnology Cluster – Bellaterra students. The aim of the encounter is to explore career paths, promote networking among young researchers and offer them the possibility to present their work in an academic, scientific and friendly environment.

The 4th Scientific Meeting of BNC-b Students (JPhD2019) is aimed to present the work done by Master and PhD students of the Barcelona Nanotechnology Cluster – Bellaterra (ICMAB, ICN2, IMB-CNM, UAB, ALBA), encouraging collaborations among all of them in an academic and scientific environment. The event, taking place at the ICMAB and ICN2 facilities, is also open to undergraduates, master students and the scientific community at large.

The meeting kicked off yesterday with a talk given by the director of the ICMAB, Prof. Xavier Obradors, who presented briefly the institution and complimented the students for their motivation to organise this event. This was followed with another brief talk by Prof. Pablo Ordejón, the director of the ICN2, who focused on the characteristics of their PhD programme to show the opportunities that the ICN2 can offer to new students.

Afterwards, three invited speakers served as example of the multiple possibilities a student can pursue after the PhD (academia, industry or even science communication) and the talks by the students began. These are organised according to their topic, being classified in Energy and Environment, Bioapplications, Nanodevices and Nanofabrication, Synthesis and Characterization, Nanomaterials and Theory and Simulation.

Not only ICN2 students participate in this event sharing their experiences, but also Group Leader and ICREA Prof. Sergio Valenzuela (Physics and Engineering of Nanodevices Group) will participate today as an invited speaker in a talk entitled "Spinning the Future of Electronics".

The ICN2 PhD students who have collaborated in the organization of the event deserve a special mention. They are María Tenorio, (Atomic Manipulation and Spectroscopy Group), Miguel Ángel Moreno and Noemí Contreras, (Nanostructured Functional Materials Group) and Iván Fernández, (Physics and Engineering of Nanodevices Group). Thanks to all the organisers for their dedication and congratulations on the excellent progress of the event!