← Back


Wednesday, 03 July 2019

The CSIC celebrates the awards received by its members

The yearly awards ceremony gathered 100 persons and institutions which received a highlighted award in 2018. The President of CSIC, Rosa Menéndez, handed a diploma and a commemorative pin to all the recognised CSIC members.

In a ceremony held last 27 June at CSIC headquarters in Madrid, the members of CSIC who had received a highlighted distinction in 2018 were personally congratulated by Rosa Menéndez, President of CSIC, and Rafael Rodrigo, General Secretary of Science Policy at the Spanish Science, Innovation and Universities Ministry. Among them were three ICN2 representatives:

  • Prof. Pablo Ordejón, Director of the ICN2 and Group Leader, who received the Narcís Monturiol award of the Catalan Government for his contributions to the advancement of Science and Technology.
  • ICREA Prof. Aitor Mugarza and Dr. Cérsar Moreno, who together with internal and external collaborators described in Science the nanoporous grephene which was voted Molecule of the Year by the readers of the journal of the American Chemical Society.
  • Àlex Argemí, Head of Marketing and Communication, who leads the internal team that together with other institutions achieved the Catalan National Science Communication Award with the NanoEduca Programme.

The 100 awardees received a diploma and a commemorative pin, and enjoyed a networking gala dinner. During the event The University of Salamanca received the golden medal of CSIC and Dr. María Ángeles Durán, a sociologist from the CSIC’s Centro de Ciencias Humanas y Sociales, deliverd an engaging speech about talent, ageing and the passion for research.