Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of the ICN2 Foundation is formed by the Generalitat de Catalunya (Catalan Government), the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC) and the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB). Our Patrons are united in their efforts to build a strong centre for research in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, taking advantage of the strengths of each institution, and enhancing ICN2’s scientific potential and impact, financial resources, and competitiveness.

President: (alternately every two years with the President of the CSIC)

Joaquim Nadal i Farreras,
Minister of Research and Universities of Catalonia.

Vice-president: (alternately every two years with the Minister of Business and Knowledge, Government of Catalonia)

Eloísa del Pino,
President of CSIC (Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas).


Joan Gómez Pallarès,
General Director of Research, Ministry of Research and Universities, Government of Catalonia.


  • Lluís Calvo Calvo,
    Institutional CSIC Coordinator in Catalonia.
  • Carlos Closa Montero,
    CSIC Vice-President for Organisation and Institutional Relations.
  • Javier Lafuente Sancho,
    Rector of the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB).
  • Lluís Rovira Pato,
    Director of CERCA Institution, Government of Catalonia.