← Back


Friday, 15 September 2017

ICREA Prof. Jordi Arbiol elected president of the Spanish Microscopy Society

by Rachel Spencer

ICREA Research Prof. and ICN2 group leader Jordi Arbiol has been appointed as the new president of the Spanish Microscopy Society, a national association that brings together all those who use microscopy and related techniques in their work. 

Founded in 1956, the Spanish Microscopy Society (SME) is a national association of scientists, researchers and other practitioners who use microscopy and related techniques in their daily work. It was established to promote the development and application of this discipline in Spain, as well as to provide opportunities for networking and advanced training. Its members come from diverse backgrounds in public and private research, industry and microscopy workshops.

Having previously held the vice-presidency from 2013 to 2017, ICREA Prof. Jordi Arbiol was elected by its members as president, a position he will hold for the next four years.  

Jordi Arbiol earned his PhD in the field of transmission electron microscopy applied to nanomaterials in 2001 from the University of Barcelona, where he then worked as an assistant professor. In 2009 he became an ICREA Research Professor and a group leader at the Institute of Materials Science of Barcelona (ICMAB-CSIC), also assuming the role as scientific supervisor of its electron microscopy facilities. Around this time he also joined the ranks of the Executive Board of the SME, becoming vice-president in 2013. After a flurry of high-profile awards in 2014, including the EU40 Materials Prize (E-MRS), the annual European Microscopy Society Outstanding Paper Award in the materials science category, and inclusion in The Analytical Scientist's Top 40 Under 40 Power List, he joined the ICN2 in 2015 as leader of the Advanced Electron Nanoscopy Group.

The new Executive Board was elected this month at the 2017 Microscopy at the Frontiers of Science conference, organised every two years together with the Portuguese Microscopy Society (SPMicros).