← Back


Tuesday, 13 July 2021

UAB Extraordinary Doctorate Prizes 2018-2019

Dr Civan Avci, Dr Ceren Çamur and Dr Javier Ivan Patarroyo Rengifo, former doctoral students at the ICN2 and the UAB, received this award for their theses, defended in the academic year 2018-1019.

Three former ICN2 PhD students, who are now continuing their career in other institutes around the world, have been awarded the Extrordinary Doctorate Prize 2018-2019 of the Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona (UAB).  Dr Civan Avci and Dr Ceren Çamur carried out their research activity in the Supramolecular NanoChemistry and Materials Group, led by Prof. Daniel Maspoch, and defended a thesis on, respectively: “Zeolitic Imidazolate Framework-8: Control of particle size, and shape and its self-assembly”; and “Advances on the synthesis of MOFs at scale”. Dr Javier Ivan Patarroyo Rengifo developed his thesis on “Exploring Synthetic Strategies for the Production of Complex Inorganic Nanoparticles” in the Inorganic Nanoparticles Group, led by Prof. Víctor Puntes.

The UAB Extraordinary Doctorate Prizes are awarded to graduate students across all the areas of the Doctoral Programme among all the theses defended in an academic year (one prize for every five theses), without the doctor being required to apply for it. Awardees are entitled to a refund of the fee they paid to apply for the degree and to a certificate.